I got to ring my bell.

1 Apr

Yesterday I had my last infusion treatment.  At first I was upset because after a year and a half of surgeries, chemo, radiation, and her-2 antibody infusions, I realized that my journey is just beginning.  My oncologist is insisting that I take a pill called tamoxifen once daily for the next 10 years.  It is upsetting because it is an everyday reminder of everything that I have been through. With my pharmaceutical background I entered the doctor’s office armed with a very highlighted Package Insert of the drug.  We went over every possible side effect the percentages of getting those side effects and what it would mean for me mentally, physically, and emotionally to keep taking this drug.  

She stated that the biggest chance of reoccurrence happens within the first 2 to three years.  Then after 5 years there is another peak period in which it could come back so that is why I would have to take the drug for 10 years.  Then after the 10 years or when I am post menopausal, I would have to go on another drug to continue the inhibition of my estrogen receptors.  

The purpose of doing this is to reduce as much as possible the chance of the cancer coming back, specifically into one of my organs, which would be considered stage 4 cancer.  

I then had to head upstairs to get my last her-2 antibody infusion.  I had a new nurse for my last infusion treatment.  I consider her my angel.  I was feeling a little down from my conversation with the oncologist.  This nurse came from a cancer center in Texas.  She said that every time someone finished treatment they would ring a bell.  Some patients never got to ring it because they were not going to get better.

All of a sudden I became very thankful.  It was a huge accomplishment to get through treatment.  Its pretty major that I am now considered cancer free.  I may have some challenges moving forward from side effects, but it certainly beats the alternative.  I now feel invigorated, motivated and inspired to face the world and truly appreciate life’s beauty.  

I am ringing my bell, now only for myself, but for all those that couldn’t.

Thank you to everyone who has been there for me and helped me on my journey to becoming a Cancer Free Cutie.   

Image

Image

3 Responses to “I got to ring my bell.”

  1. Bill April 1, 2014 at 4:57 PM #

    Ring that bell Cuz, love U……

    • dymelle April 1, 2014 at 7:36 PM #

      Thanks for all of your support, luv u too!

  2. Jeff April 1, 2014 at 8:02 PM #

    I am so glad to hear you finished the last of the treatments! I know your strength, courage and commitment to wellness will help you stay healthy and happy as you continue your journey. Keep us posted-your blog is great.

Leave a Reply

